Wednesday , 21 October 2020
The front entrance of City Hall. (Lloyd Connect)

City releases unofficial election candidates list

As the nominations for the 2020 municipal election close, the City has released an unofficial list of candidates.

There is one person running for mayor while 18 residents aim to fill the six city council seats in City Hall.

There are eight candidates for both the Lloydminster Public School Board of Trustees and the Lloydminster Catholic School Board of Trustees. There are seven spots available for both divisions.

The official list will be posted after 4 p.m. tomorrow as candidates are given 24 hours to withdraw from the race.

The election is slated for November 9th.


Gerald Aalbers

City Council

Aaron Buckingham

Aftab Arif

Bill King

Charles Balenga

Cheryl Ross

Chris Carnell

Darrell Dunn

Dean Segberg

Glenn Fagnan

Jason Whiting

Jonathan Torresan

Lorelee Marin

Michael Diachuk

Rhiannon Greening

Sandy Barrett

Satish Patel

Shawn Davidson

Sheldon Weinrauch


Asad Gavahi Kashani

Cathy Cornet

Chrissy Gee

David Thompson

Georgina Veltikold

Karoline Kennedy

Melanie Mutter

Viren Tailor


Andrea Zerr

Cal Fendelet

Chris Carnell

Kate Carnell

Laurie Makichuk

Michelle Rusteika

Paula Scott

Winson Avara

About Tre Lopushinsky

Tre is the lead reporter/editor at Lloyd Connect. He is a NAIT Radio and Television alumni. Tre has experience in radio, audio production, video editing and news reporting. During his time at NAIT he worked as a sports editor for the college paper and was a commentator for NAIT Ooks Basketball and volleyball teams. Some residents may know him as being the "giant employee" in the community for the past two years. Tre, for some reason, hasn’t veered away from his childhood as he has a passion for collecting figures (not dolls!).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *